1. K-State home
  2. »Engineering
  3. »ARE-CNS
  4. »Student Organizations
  5. »ASHRAE Design Team

Architectural Engineering and Construction Science

ASHRAE Design Team

The  ASHRAE Design Competition - HVAC System Selection encourages students with a solid HVAC base to use life cycle cost process to select the building HVAC system(s) as well as incorporate the sustainability process promoted by ASHRAE by integrating ASHRAE Standard 189.1-2009 - Standard for the Design of High-Performance Green Buildings, and the U.S. Green Building Council's LEED™ Rating System. The details of the completion are outlined on the ASHRAE website

Undergraduate credit is available for participation in this competition team. This is a three credit hour course offered in the spring semester under the course number ARE715. The coaches for this competition are Fred Hasler and Julia Keen.
2018, First Place
2014, First Place
2013, First Place:
  • Garrett Elder
  • Nathan Love
  • Nicholas Theimer
2011, Second Place:
  • Jordan Bartholomew
  • Sean Kolich
  • Elizabeth Ourecky
  • Kimberly Pierson
  • Curtis Whittit
2010, First Place:
  • Zachary Buckmiller
  • Matthew Kolins
  • Todd Kuno
  • Jared Palan
  • Nicole Vogt
  • Joel Wheeler
2009, First Place:
  • Kelly Griffith
  • James Newman
  • Phillip Podlasek
  • Darren Rottinghaus
2008, Second Place:
  • Kevin Chow
  • James Mahoney
  • Ashley Weekly
2007, First Place:
  • Kevin Chow
  • Brandon Damas
  • Jeremiah Fowler
  • Brandon Frey
  • Brendan Gleason
  • Benjamin Willey
2005, Second Place:
  • Nathan Boepple
  • Justin Claybrook
  • Keith Higgins
  • Christopher Kearney
  • Christopher McKee
  • Matthew Moore
  • Brandon Owston
  • Matthew Spencer
  • Matthew Waldo
  • Samuel Weaver

For more information regarding the ASHRAE (American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers) Design Team, please contact:

Julia Keen
Kansas State University
Architectural Engineering and Construction Science
2062 Seaton Hall
Manhattan, KS  66506

Fred Hasler
Kansas State University
Architectural Engineering and Construction Science
2063 Seaton Hall
Manhattan, KS  66506